Twitterfest (contd)

So I had to call the customer service. Calling is quite difficult for me as I cannot see the person and have to rely on auditory information, which I tend to forget. After my stroke I have learned to rely on my visual memory. Calling without a concall programme or chat is therefore a nightmare.

I called Orbitz and was put on hold. The minutes were ticking away so I decided to stir things a little by sending some tweets into the world. THey tell the story:

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  16h16 hours ago
#Orbitz: Lousy service for the #disabled. On the phone for 72 minutes #nowsolution #lousyservice

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  17h17 hours ago
Thanks @KLM for responding to my #tweets. Please #confirm you have seen my #DM !
0 retweets0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  17h17 hours ago
#help the #handicapped @KLM and @OrbitzCareTeam #scootmobile #waiting #Hersenstichting @Consumentenbond

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  18h18 hours ago
@ Orbitz: #Skype lost the connection. Now I can start #alloveragain! #customerservice #telephone #international #terrible
#Orbitz: happy to help you. #youdidnt
0 retweets0 favorites18h18 hours ago

#KLM and #Orbitz: a simple form to request #transport for a #scootmobile will do. #savethehassle #energydrain #badservice #cvapatient

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  18h18 hours ago
#hersenstichting and #americanbraininjuryassociation Can you look into disability assistance for #CVApatients by airlines? #KLM #Orbitz

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  18h18 hours ago
#Orbitz #international #Customerservice 23 minutes and counting….
@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment  18h18 hours ago

#KLM and #ORBITZ only refer to each other when requesting transport for my #scootmobile. HELP! #evenmoredisabled #badservice

THey were picked up within the hour and retweeted by other travel bloggers and tweets. KLM was the first to respond, transferring the discussion to direct message.

In the meantime I finally got hold of an Orbitz representative and I pleaded my case.
“Hello, I need my scootmobile transported and it needs to be requested by Orbitz to the airline. Can you do that for me?”

“Thank you for calling Orbitz! We are happy to help you. However in this case you have to contact the airline yourself/”
“THe airline tells me you have to tell them, they won’t accept a request from me. Since I had a stroke and I am handicapped, I request your assistance”
Pause
“I have no possibillity to do that for you”
I was losing my patience and my energy. I started yelling that I had a ******* stroke and that I was given the runaround, and did they know how much energy this was costing me?
“You will be transferred to a supervisor”
“Hello, this is the supervisor. (strong asian accent). How can I help? (She didn’t sound like she wanted to). “I NEED SOMEONE TO TELL THE AIRLINE THAT I NEED HELP FOR THE BOOKING OF THE TRANSFER OF MY SCOOTMOBILE!”
“We don’t do that, you have to do that yourself” It was like pulling teeth. Gradually she budged and said she probably would have to try but no guarantees were possible.
Then she started to ask about the battery. I told her I had all the tech specs in a file for you, so I could mail it to her. “We don’t accept email, mam”
I started to yell at her and asked for her name. I couldn’t hear it probably and asked her to spell it. Still difficult to hear, because of her Asian accent. I decided to give up for now, and try another way, and ended the conversation.

In the meantime my tweets were picked up by KLM, and they referred me to Delta Airlines Customer Service in The Netherlands, which was run by KLM.
My twitterfeed went on:
@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jul 1
Twitterfest and scootmobile http://wp.me/p2Ar7n-2F via @Atdevelopment
View summary 0 retweets 0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 30
@Consumentenbond @KLM Heb vandaag een mail gekregen die me naar #Delta verwijst. Heb hun gebeld en het lijkt nu geregeld
View conversation 0 retweets 0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 30
Twitterfest and scootmobile http://wp.me/p2Ar7n-2F via @Atdevelopment
View summary 0 retweets 0 favorites
Reply Retweet Favorite View Tweet activity
More
@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 30
Twitterfest and scootmobile http://wp.me/p2Ar7n-2F via @Atdevelopment @Orbitz
#badservice #mistreatment #disabled #cvapatient

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 30
Twitterfest and scootmobile https://cvapatientenglish.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/twitterfest-and-scootmobile

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 29
@KLM Please #help me to get my #scootmobile transported! I had #noreply to my #DM. Took a while to figure it out. #disability #stroke
0 retweets 0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 29
#Orbitz: Lousy service for the #disabled. On the phone for 72 minutes #nowsolution #lousyservice
0 retweets 0 favorites
Reply Retweet Favorite View Tweet activity
More
@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 29
@KLM na het sturen van een DM blijft het eindeloos stil! #Scootmobile #caught between #Orbitz and #KLM
0 retweets 0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 29
@KLM Please confirm you have read my Direct message. I managed to send it.
View conversation 0 retweets 0 favorites

@ Development ‏@Atdevelopment Jun 29
Thanks @KLM for responding to my #tweets. Please #confirm you have seen my #DM !

Leave a Reply

